Thought of the day

Were getting some great skies at the moment and it would be a cloud spotters heaven I suspect with all the different layers in fact I counted three maybe four. Also the heather is starting to turn so soon there will be a sea of purple covering the moors along with beehives to scent the honey. I have been slowly building up my daily walks over the last seven months to the point where I am doing ten miles a day now. As I look back at my tracking app it is interesting to see the progress from sporadic potters in in the countryside to now route marches across hill and dale and the corresponding downward progress of the (waist) line in these efforts.

Walking is the one constant in life that has got me out of the house and on dark days helped me either empty my mind or allowed me to think clearly, well try to think clearly about the future and as I have said in previous posts it is my form of meditation and am more than happy to tramp along for miles and miles emptying the mind with every step. I love seeing the seasons change and although I am not enamoured with winter and the run up to it, it has it’s own beauty. Here in what this year is call summer I look back to spring and coming out of the previous winter and shedding off the layers and then looking forward to the impending one with some in-trepidation as the nights get longer and the days get darker. But walking is the cure, the cure to it all although the opportunity to get out reduces with every encroaching sunset and sunrise. But hey were still in August and there is some way to go before those darkened days.

IMG_1170.jpeg

One of the things I enjoy is coming across unexpected things and the picture above shows what I mean. Coming across this pack horse bridge with its steep angles and narrowness is a view of the past that we have all but forgotten in our daily lives until we come across them. To me it is fascinating that I am travelling over a bridge that for four or five hundred years people have been doing the same thing and yet next to me cars drive by with satnav and mobile phones that even say sixty years ago were unimaginable to the masses. It is striking to me that though society and communities change the landscape changes little over the course of time and certainly out here in the countryside life goes on pretty much as it has done for centuries.

Leave a Reply

