Down by the riverside..

IMG_0200.jpeg

As we have been having some rather nice weather of late and I have been taking the opportunity to get in as many walks as possible and also trying out new ones. I fact it could become a bit of a black hole in terms of time. I now have Louis Armstrong singing “We have all the time in the world” going round in my head but it’s good to make hay while the sun shines and I do have ‘all the time in the world’.. Anyway back to the point of all of this, normally I am a up on high kinda guy form my walks as I love to see the vista and landscapes stretch out in front of me. However this walk was down by the river side and not somewhere I normally go but it had the benefit of being shaded and a bit cooler so better for me my fair skin, ah the swings and roundabouts of outrageous fortune to have been born a Mondays child and with such a fair face and have to bathe in 50+ Sun Cream pretty much from May to October. I digress.

Normally I am pretty oblivious to nature as I guess being dragged around it as a youngster by keen parents didn’t help install a lifelong love, but one cannot help but like a wood covered in bluebells and “other” yellow and green stuff. Reminds me of picnics down by the river near where we lived and the adventure it always seemed, in fact it felt like another universe away from the normal hum drum and now replicating the same walk taking maybe 15-20mins, its funny how the mind plays tricks.

It’s something I use to occasionally experience and think about whilst living in London; a moment in a park where the city disappeared from ones consciousness and for a moment one felt back in that distant universe of ones childhood.

4 thoughts on “Down by the riverside..

  1. “But the child who is born on the Sabbath day, Is bonnie and blithe and good and gay.”
    I didn’t know! 🙂
    I have always lived near the sea, I think it has the same calming effects on me. The times when I haven’t have been rough, like I felt trapped. It’s something I think about from time to time as I am not a boat or sailing person. It’s just the view I guess.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: All things by the sea – 42Y on 42K

Leave a Reply

