Finding the passion

This is something I have  been mulling over for the last few weeks as it is something that I have struggled with most of my life. I am sure that there are many who are doing what they love, many who are doing what makes them happy and many who are just keeping their heads down in order to keep the plates spinning. But the big question and something that I have never really considered as have spent a life doing something that pays for a life; living to work rather than working to live. Not many are given an opportunity to pause and reflect, to consider their position in life and make change if found to be needed. But I am in that lucky position with some time to ponder but it doesn’t make it any easier. How do you wake up one morning find your life bearing, map it out before lunch and start acting it out the following day, no me neither.

When ‘one’ has been on a path, track, road, goals what ever you want to call it it can quite often blind you to the possibilities that you may have thought were open to you in earlier years. Something I thought about many years ago was being an engineer purely has I use to take things to bits to see how they worked. Admittedly they would rarely go back together again to its once working form, but in that process I told myself I wanted to be an engineer. Thankfully I never got any further with it as I wasn’t dedicated enough and also I was hopeless at maths or at least the type of maths that were needed. This got me thinking though. What could I do? and possibly more importantly what would I do.

Part of setting up this blog was to answer this very question and then to see where it took me. What I hadn’t banked on happening was that it would take so long. I suppose in the scheme of things a few weeks or even a few months would take a huge chunk of time out of the universe. It is a task I need to apply myself to though as I have a nasty habit of procrastinating and downright avoiding these types of decisions. That is all about to change with my new “Self Improvement Plan 2.0”

One of the fundamental requirements to life though is having money. Not all things cost money but often they take money to achieve. This has to be factored into ones thinking, i.e. if re-training is needed or some different professional qualifications are needed or maybe a spell back at college.

For me it is about building back up some funds that will then allow me to make some/more decision once I have a fallback position which is partly guiding my plans and choices at the moment. I have many side projects that I have anticipated over the years but whether they would lead to a meaningful life who knows. I suppose that the only way to find out is to give it a try.

and on that note I will leave you with an image of what seems like spring coming from a longish walk I did the other day where I spent time mulling over options whilst pounding the miles.

IMG_5070

Leave a Reply

