Pinch, punch, first day of the month

Being a relative noob to noooo-media and blogging I received a mail from WordPress about a blogging 101. Now normally I don’t respond to these kind of emails but as it is free and maybe of some interest I thought I would give it a try. Hey what can go wrong? I have been thinking about my social media presence and the amount of effort needed to keep up with it all. I am thinking of cutting back my Twitter footprint as I just can’t keep up with the tidal wave of info. Don’t get me wrong there is so much positive stuff out there and I think that Twitter is the best way to capture these snippets. However time spent looking down all these paths takes up more and more of my daily life. Is it really that important, can I live without it and the answer to this question has to be yes. My goal is to cut back the feeds to the things that I am interested in and keep refining the level and quality of that feed. One of the reasons I like blogging and reading blogs is the un-hurried feel to them. Maybe I am a digital dinosaur but I find current levels of social media and connected world to be too much. Just look back to a time when we didn’t all have smartphones, tablets and permanently on lives, some may even remember the Telephone or even the phonebox. Now I am not saying lets go back to that, far from it as I have learnt so much and made new friendships at I would have never been able to do in the pre-www days, but sometimes we should disconnect and reconnect. Arguments on both side of the coin have validity and its just know when and where to draw the line.

So what will the 101 bring, who knows but I hope to improve my blogging skills, so stay tuned..

One thought on “Pinch, punch, first day of the month

Leave a Reply

